DIY Tiger Halloween Costume

tigernewED

As a self-labeled non-crafty mom, I have always joked my daughter is destined to wear store-bought Halloween costumes. And so far, that has been the case.

For her first Halloween, she was Elmo. Her second was delayed due to illness, but our lovely neighbors arranged an impromptu trick-o-treat session once our little Curious George was feeling better.

Next up was Foofa from my least favorite children’s show. Last year’s costume was easily my favorite to date – Strawberry Shortcake. She was a hit everywhere she went in that one.

I could have probably attempted to make many if not all of those costumes. I just didn’t feel like it. My attitude has always been, why bother when I can buy one? I always search for, and usually find, great deals on them.

When my daughter’s obsession with tigers began, I knew what was coming this year. And I was concerned I would not be able to find a suitable costume. You see, we live in Florida. It is rarely cold here on Halloween. Tiger costumes tend to be full coverage and fuzzy.

She would swelter in anything I could find in a store or online. So, for the first time since becoming a mother, I decided to try my hand at making my child’s Halloween costume.

The centerpiece is an orange t-shirt with black stripes. I didn’t even need to take to the web to look for a tutorial. I simply headed to the craft store with my idea. Bought a shirt, orange tights and some black fabric paint. All for around $15.

She’ll also be wearing a black mini-skirt and a few store-bought accessories: tiger ears, paws and a tail. I sewed elastic straps on the paws so they can fit over her shoes.

tiger2ED

Lastly, there will be a little face painting involved. Whiskers and a black nose. Easy, peasy!

This idea could be modified for a number of different animals. Zebra, obviously. But also cheetah, leopard, giraffe…

Halloween is still several weeks away. You’ve got time!

Leave a Reply

