DIY Kaleidoscope

kalmainED

The other day, I was finishing off a canister of Pringles potato chips (lightly salted, of course). It’s one of my few guilty pleasures. As I prepared to throw the empty canister in the recycle bin, it occurred to me – there had to be something we could make out of it.

I took to the Internet and began to look up tutorials on making a kaleidoscope. The ones I found did not meet my criteria, as they were not simple. I looked around my house and tried to think of an easier way with fewer steps.

What I came up with is not perfect, but it was fun and my preschooler loves it.

What you will need:

  • Empty, cleaned Pringles container
  • Empty, cleaned applesauce container
  • Plastic report cover
  • Ruler
  • Scissors
  • Pen or Sharpie
  • Tape
  • Phillips head screwdriver
  • Transparent beads, sequins or confetti
  • Wrapping paper or construction paper

What to do:

  • Use the screwdriver to puncture a hole in the bottom of the Pringles canister, as close to the center as you can (this is an adult activity).

kal4ED

  • Cut the report cover into a 9” x 9” square.
  • Measure three 2.5” sections (there will be some left over; this will become a flap).
  • Use your fingernails or the scissors edge to fold the report cover into a triangle. The angles should be as sharp as possible.
  • Fold the triangle, taping the small flap to hold it together.
  • Place the triangle inside the Pringles canister.

kal2ED

  • Fill the applesauce container with your beads, sequins, confetti.
  • Place applesauce container inside the top of Pringles container. (Make sure it fits inside the plastic triangle.)

kal3ED

  • Tape wrapping or construction paper around the outside of the Pringles canister.
  • Place the plastic lid on the top of the Pringles container.
  • Step outside and hold your kaleidoscope up to the sun.

“It’s so pretty!” my four year old exclaimed as she looked through it. And it only took about five minutes to complete. That is my kind of craft!

Leave a Reply

