Pretty Fabric Summer Wreath

wreath_1_new

Sitting on my porch this week, I couldn’t help but notice how drab and distraught our front door wreath looked. It’s a pretty floral thing I bought from a neat craft store a year or two ago, but the birds have been picking it apart, taking bits and pieces of it with them, back to their nests. Doing what I can’t help but do, I began thinking of ideas for making a new wreath of my own. I have done ribbon wreaths and wicker wreaths before so I wanted to try something new. I decided to use some fabric from my huge stash of odds and ends to make this cute fabric summer wreath. It’s a little shaggy and imperfect, but I think that’s what I love about it! (Not to mention the great fabric – straight from an old shirt and skirt!)

wreath_2_new

What you will need:

2-4 different kinds of fabric, ripped or cut into 8-inch strips

Wire wreath

(Yes, only 2 things. Pretty fantastic!)

Instructions:

All you do to make this cute project is rip or cut up your fabric. If you are a perfectionist, you can use pinking shears or a rotary blade to cut even strips. If you want to give it a more shaggy look, just rip it. (That’s what I did.)

Alternating your fabrics, simply tie them around the wire wreath. I used just 2 different fabrics, and about 15, 8-inch strips of each was enough to cover mine. Depending on how many fabrics you use and the size of your wreath, you may need more or less.

wreath_3_new

Leave a Reply

