The Great Wolf Lodge Adventure

wolf_1_new

Once a year, my husband, son and I have the rare opportunity for a family vacation. We leave the daily responsibilities of work, dishes and laundry aside, forgo trying to coordinate plans with friends and family, and leave for some time to just the three of us.

This year, our out-of the ordinary turned extraordinary when we ventured to the Great Wolf Lodge in Williamsburg, VA.

“Let’s go to the waterpark!” my son repeatedly the days leading up to our trip.

“We’ll go soon,” I promised, and I helped him make a paper chain countdown to ease his anticipation.

I was a little nervous about taking our three year old to a water park, but oh my goodness, how he loved it!

We entered the indoor water park and I watched my son’s face light up as he took in his surroundings. A few moments of trepidation quickly left him as he ventured over to the toddler pool and started splashing.

We quickly dropped our things on a vacant chair and secured a life jacket around our son so he could explore as he pleased. I love that those were readily accessible to ease my Mommy mind.

My husband quickly convinced my son to climb the big tree house tower to try a waterslide. My heart started to race as I watched them ascend. I’ve always been more of an observer than an action seeker. And then I saw my three year old coming down the waterslide all by himself with the largest grin I’ve ever seen.

wolf_2_new

“Again!” he proclaimed and my boys went up again to slide. “You try Mommy!” I heard after his next slide adventure.

wolf_3_new

“Oh, Mommy doesn’t really like to do that…” I trailed; knowing my argument would be short lived after looking into my pleading son’s eyes.

My husband gave me a knowing glance, and then a surprised one as I followed my son’s lead and our whole family climbed up to slide down.

And then I discovered the beauty in stepping out of your comfort zone.

Going to Great Wolf Lodge was a wonderful escape and an amazing, all inclusive, made for family, fun vacation. But it was also a chance for me to see my family in a different light.

My son is incredibly brave. I have never known a three year old to be so fearless of adventure, and I’m positive I was not that daring at his age. (Or ever.) My husband is really fun, which is easy for me to forget when we are drenched in the throes of daily life. And I am capable of much more than I knew, because as it turns out, getting dressed in a bathing suit, going down huge water slides and taking the time to relax with family in a resort is unbelievable fun.

Have you let yourself experience adventure lately?

*I was provided a media stay rate for one night at the Great Wolf Lodge. All opinions, experiences, and revelations are my own.*

6 thoughts on “The Great Wolf Lodge Adventure

  1. Miss Lou

    Beautifully written. Makes me feel like I want to gooooo! I live in Australia and going to a Great Wolf Lodge was one of the things we had seriously considered as a family as we all lover the water. That month, a young boy from the Creche I directed drowned when he was on a weekend visit to our local water park with his family.

    I suddenly became over-ally cautious and thought better of it.

    Thanks for sharing. It’s been a few years since we considered, perhaps it might be something to put on the cards again!

    Reply
    1. Julia

      Thank you so much!

      I must admit, I had your same fear. The high percentage of young children that drown terrifies me and at my son’s young age I was just not sure if it would be a good idea.

      I love that Great Wolf Lodge had life jackets and lifeguards and my husband and I stayed close the whole time.

      We truly had a lovely time. I hope that if you decide to go you feel the same way!!

      Reply
      1. Miss Lou

        I think we will still pursue it as an option for us as a holiday adventure, though prior to going, we might just get in some additional water play and swimming practice – You can never have too much of that eh!

        Thanks so much for the mega fast response :)

        Miss Lou ♥

  2. Pingback: And we’re off… | Writings of a Mrs Mommy

  3. Janet

    It looks like a fun day was had by all! I have never been to this particular water park, but I have heard great things about it! I love having fun in the wave pool.

    Reply
  4. Facebook Profile Picture

    Second, the green light on the motherboard can help a technician recognize whether the power
    supply is capable of supplying power to the computer. However,
    is there any place or occasion where style and trend cease to
    be effective. The most common place that people ground the amp is by
    running a wire to one of the bolts that holds down the front seat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

